Posted by: cassymuronaka | May 14, 2009

Etched

Despite the fact that I cannot walk into any room of my house without being confronted by giant tumbleweeds of fur dropped from two dogs shedding their winter coats, I have managed to find any number of excuses this week not to do a lick of housework.

Today’s avoidance project is a goodie. I have been trying out Sherri Haab’s new E3 Etch machine on a copper plate whose design I made on yet another day when I rationalized shunning my vacuum cleaner and dust mop. It’s good timing too, because Sherri just put up a YouTube video supplementing the kit instructions. (Sherri appears to be the star of this week’s blog postings, since I also mentioned her in connection with my pre-Mother’s Day barbecue machinations a couple of days ago.)

The E3 Etch not only textures copper but it also imprints fired metal clay and can be used for plating and electroforming. The versatility of this machine means that I can kill a few more days playing with it before I really do have to break down and clean my floors.

Etcher

The kit includes some pre-printed patterns on Sherri’s ITS transfer paper, but you also can use other resists: oil-based paint pens or fingernail polish, for example. Or you can send blank sheets of the ITS paper through a laser printer and produce your own computer-generated designs.

Etching

I’ve already messed with a Sharpie paint pen on one copper plate, as well as some of the pre-printed images. I’m going print one of my own designs and use up some old Delta metal paints before my next go-round with the etcher. That ought to take me through early next week, which will be about the time I start hallucinating buckets of Pine-sol coming at me like the Mickey Mouse in the “Sorcerer’s Apprentice.”


Responses

  1. […] Etched https://cassymuronaka.wordpress.com/2009/05/14/etched […]

  2. […] few months ago, I was beat my little drum for Sherri and Dan Haab’s E3 Etch, a painless and environmentally-friendly way to etch […]

  3. […] few months ago, I was beat my little drum for Sherri and Dan Haab’s E3 Etch, a painless and environmentally-friendly way to etch […]

  4. Can I buy the E3 etch kit and use the same unit to electroform (if I add solutions and the other components of course?
    Also can I use the unit with salt and water as a etching solution?
    This is what I am doing now but with a battery as my power source.
    I am looking for thew most economical way to continue etching and start electroforming.
    thank you..

    • No, not if you are interested in using one of Sherri Haab’s products, which have been redesigned since 2009 when this post was written. There are separate machines now for electfroforming and etching.

      She has a lot of information on her website, http://sherrihaab.businesscatalyst.com/tools-kits

      • Yes,I did read on her page.
        I am located in the Caribbean so I am trying to find cost cutting DIY solutions. 🙂

  5. I can certainly sympathize with that, Malin. If space is a concern too, I highly recommend Sherri’s electroforming system. I have seen the rectifier set-ups that some other people have, and they are just gigantic and complex. Sherri’s stuff is so easy to use.


Leave a comment

Categories