Posted by: cassymuronaka | January 5, 2015

Dog gone

lola and treat

Suspicious, paranoid, her behavior completely driven by what might get her a treat, and unbeloved by almost everyone she met, the half-border collie, half-God-knows-what else known as Lola has gone to that great dog park in the sky.

No one will mourn her, save for the three people with whom she lived, but let it be said that Lola was the most interesting almost-human being I’ve ever met.  I adored my other canine, who passed away almost three years ago to the day as Lola, but when you looked in Red Dog’s eyes, you definitely saw dog.  A very crafty, lovable dog, but absolutely dog.

Not so much with Lola.  There were times I thought I glimpsed something else struggling to get out, something close to human.  Border Collies are said to be the most intelligent dogs, and this one — who was all border collie in her brain — was no exception. She began trying to herd us like sheep when she was six weeks old.  I think she spent every day of her life attempting to figure out the English language.

And we spent each of her sixteen years trying to figure her out.

Responses

  1. So sad! It sounds like she had a great life with you though! I know how you feel, when our old girl (of similar breeding but of the brown persuasion) passed away after 19 years of giving us so much fun, it was a very sad day.

    She too was able to understand so many words and was amazing. It really isn’t fair, dogs and cats should live much longer than they do!

    • Thank you so much for the kind comment. And yes, even though she had a long, full life, I still would have wished for a few more years.

  2. I’m sorry for your loss. I can’t imagine losing either of my fur babies.

    • Thanks Cynthia. We’re kind of dragging around today…. I don’t think my husband has even gotten out of bed yet.

  3. May she rest in peace. So sorry to hear Lola is gone. Please have a wake for her!

    • Thanks Billie!


Leave a Reply

Categories

