Posted by: cassymuronaka | January 1, 2014

Massaging the persimmons

persimmons hanging

After spending a couple of weeks drying a lot of our Japanese Fuyus in a dehydrator, I now am hanging them to dry in the traditional Japanese way.

Ours is a happy tree and it had a happy year, so there is a a lot of fruit.  I’ve have had to get creative in dealing with the harvest. We gave a lot of it away, mostly the fresh stuff. A few select people who would understand the effort of cutting up and dehydrating 10,000 Fuyus received the gift of dried persimmons.

I discovered a few years ago that dried Fuyus taste like fresh dates.  I’m fairly indifferent to fresh persimmons but I love dried dates. I passed my big discovery along to some friends, along with some dehydrated persimmons.  Everyone who has tried the Fuyus agrees that dried Fuyus taste like dates that arrived straight from Indio.

So now I’m on to new drying techniques.  Or rather, one very old one. I skinned and hung about 17 persimmons on Friday night, after I stole the towel rack out of my husband’s bathroom. For the “sunny spot” the drying instruction requires, I pushed my couch out from the big front window, where the sun hits the hardest. Now the whole neighborhood can watch the show being put on by the demented woman hanging fruit in her living room.

After leaving the persimmons alone for a week, I am supposed to start giving them little massages to get the sugar moving.

I would imagine that there are people in Japan who spend years learning how to give the right massage — the fruit version of sushi chef training — but my persimmons are getting the fly-by-the-seat-of-your-pants American rub-down. Loving, but possibly very clumsy and inaccurate.

I thought I was done after hanging those 17 persimmons in the front window, but we still have persimmons.

I went back and looked at the traditional Japanese drying instructions.  I read that if a persimmon tree branch is unusable for hanging (or your husband went crazy tightly clipping all the persimmons off the tree close to their bases), you can simply add a screw to the top of the fruit, thereby creating your own metal “branch.”

persimmon with screw

I have successfully done this with two persimmons.  And now it is going be my New Year’s Day past-time, along with Round Two of getting ready for taxes, and watching my TiVoed Rose Parade.

Responses

  1. Yours is an extremely eclectic lifestyle.

  2. Happy New Year!

    • Happy New Year to you, too, Virginia.

  3. … Oh yeah, and enjoy the Fuyu “date” crop.

  4. This is so interesting. I had no idea. I don’t think I have ever even eaten one.

    • Are you in California, Roberta? I’d never seen one in the stores when I was growing up.

  5. This is great! The persimmon with the screw on the top is priceless.
    Commercial Fuyu season is over due to an early frost in November, which triggered an early end to the season. So you are lucky to still have persimmons on your tree!

    • The harvest of all my fruit trees has stretched out nicely this year, so I am lucky indeed.


Leave a Reply

Categories

