Posted by: cassymuronaka | September 1, 2013

Kurt Vonnegut and me

Occasionally, the cosmos briefly stops lobbing mudballs at you. Instead, the rain ceases, the clouds part, and and a shimmering shaft of light shines down from the heavens on you.  Yes, you.

I got an email today from the Executive Director of the Kurt Vonnegut Memory Library, informing me that two of my photos will be included in the second annual Kurt Vonnegut Memorial Library Journal: SO IT GOES. The theme of last year’s collection of essays, drawings, and photography was “War and Peace.” This year’s theme is “Humor.”

I only found out about the book in May, and immediately ordered a copy of the 2012 edition. The deadline for 2013 submissions was mid-June

Not much time to produce something of worth.

But, humor? And Kurt Vonnegut, the author whose books I sucked up in succession during my university years?

Would I kick myself for the rest of my life if I didn’t try to compete?

I have worked with many fine reporters and photographers during my life in journalism. Countless of them have produced photo essays and articles on very serious subjects, often changing laws and altering people’s lives for the better with their efforts. But even after a cursory review through decades of slides, negatives, and digital photo files, it’s clear that my body of work adds up to something that can only be described as “Snark in Photography.”

I’m never going to change the world, but I might make someone laugh.

So, the odds of getting in the Vonnegut publication were not so very bad for me, I decided.

And every bit of the effort I put into selecting and preparing my photos was worth it.  This sentence in the notification letter was almost as good as getting two of my five submissions selected for publication:

“We actually wanted to include more but just don’t have the space. ”

So it goes.

Dave McNary and the topiary animals

This is a photo of Dave McNary, one of my best friends.  It didn’t make the
cut for the Vonnegut journal, but it is one of my favorite photographs of
one of my favorite people. It was the only good thing to come out of
a failed story we tried to do together on topiary animals.

Responses

  1. Congratulations! Well done!

    • Thanks Dorothy!

  2. Outstanding! What a memory!


Leave a Reply

Categories

