Posted by: cassymuronaka | July 12, 2012

Marion Cunningham and her zest for breakfast

Right after I reading the loving obituaries and remembrances of  Marion Cunningham this morning, I knew I had to make pancakes. Never a fan of the latter, my attitude changed a few years ago when I picked up Cunningham’s little tome, The Breakfast Book.

Marion Cunningham, famous for American cooking, as well as revising, updating and adding to the classic Fannie Farmer Cookbook, liked her morning meals. And, judging by this book she liked her pancakes thin or fluffy.

While I originally bought this recipe compilation for its many variations on scones, I have ended up treasuring it because of its many kinds of pancakes.

This morning I quickly threw together “Bridge Creek Heavenly Hots,”  a recipe unusual for the very small amount of flour required in its construction.

“Bridge Creek Heavenly Hots” also  is a recipe that you can’t hurt.  I know this because I made deliberate and accidental changes to the recipe.  I didn’t have sour cream or cake flour, so I used Greek yogurt and regular white flour.  I wanted to halve the recipe, but forgot that halfway through it, so the ingredients are not quite proportionate to the original.  I also fell in love with one of Cunningham’s other recipes on another page, “Lemon Pancakes,” but didn’t have enough ingredients for that recipe to even try to substitute.  So I grated lemon rind into the “Bridge Creek Heavenly Hots” batter, then made a lemon-maple syrup to serve over it.

Despite my changes, and less-than-uniform pancakes, the results were wonderful.

BRIDGE CREEK HEAVENLY HOTS
(50 to 60 dollar-size pancakes)

4 eggs
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/4 cup flour
2 cups sour cream
3 tbsp. sugar

Put the eggs in a mixing bowl and and stir until well blended.  Add the salt, baking soda, flour, sour cream, and sugar, and mix well.  All of this can be done in a blender, if you prefer.

Heat a griddle or frying pan until it is good and hot, film with grease, and drop small spoonfuls of batter onto the griddle– just enough to spread to an approximately 2 1/2 round. When a few bubbles appear on top of the pancakes, turn them over and cook briefly.

P.S.  If someone wants me to try and remember how I made the syrup, let me know, but I’m too lazy to think about it right now

Leave a Reply

Categories

