Posted by: cassymuronaka | January 11, 2012

Finally, a use for all those tote bags

“I like your bag,” said the housewife as she pushed her shopping cart full of groceries and one female toddler past me on her way from the supermarket to her car.

I liked my bag too. It was a Spiderman tote that I had picked up in gross quantities at my local 99¢ Only Store about a month before the Los Angeles County law banning plastic shopping bags went into effect.

Not that I lack tote bags.   I must have 20 or 30 of them floating throughout my house in varying strengths and sizes, all of them printed with advertising or spouting big thoughts. But the idea of loading my food into Spiderman bags tickled me. Besides, I didn’t want to cough up the 10¢ per brown paper bag the markets now are charging for bags that once were free.

Leave a Reply

Categories

