Posted by: cassymuronaka | December 27, 2011

One of many reasons I slept all day on December 26

I am cooking in the kitchen on Christmas Eve.  It is late.  My aged mother insists on “helping” me.

“Cassy, it would be so much easier to sauté these onions if you had chopped them into smaller pieces.”

“No, I WANT to help.  I’m just saying that the onions would cook faster and look more attractive in the dish if the pieces were smaller.”

“Don’t you use a food processor?”

“WHY don’t you use a food processor?”

“What do you mean?”

“Well, why don’t you move it out so it’s more accessible?”

“WELL, if you say so….. it’s just that these onions could cook so much faster.”

Responses

  1. ha ha HA!

  2. Ha! I can see how that might be difficult. On the other hand, try to enjoy your mother’s company while you can. I lost mine about 10 years ago, and I still miss her sometimes.

    P.S. I slept all day yesterday too. Am contemplating a nap today. There are no bad naps.

  3. I invited my daughter to join me while I helped my mom make dumplings. I wanted her to see where my inner control-freak comes from.

    • Well, I have to admit I am a bit of a freak in the kitchen, too. And I also learned to be a good kitchen cook from my mother (and to barbeque outside from my father). When control freaks collide……

  4. I had baked potatoes for Christmas Eve (the big one) dinner and purposely cooked more than I needed. It was easy to make baked potato soup on Christmas to go with our leftover ham.

  5. It’s good that you weren’t making a dessert


Leave a Reply

Categories

