Posted by: cassymuronaka | November 28, 2011

Fusing Obsessions: polymer clay and fiber

My obsessive knitting of late finally has caught up with my cord-making of several years, which itself once caught up to my polymer clay work. My newest knitted scarf coordinates well with a custom-designed Kumihimo cord displaying one of my polymer clay pendants.  I’d love to tell you that I planned this, but such is not the case. It was a simple harmonic convergence.

There remains a large stash of Kumihimo and sewn silk cords that I feverishly produced over a period of several months that still are awaiting jewelry to lovingly envelope. I suppose that will be my next mission as I return to my studio and slash my way through the yarn that now hangs from every chair and cabinet, to search for cords that will match pendants and beads I already have made in polymer clay.

It probably would not be a bad thing to plan my creations in a somewhat more organized fashion. Sketching out an idea, picking my dominant colors would streamline a project, an obvious revelation for artists who already regularly practice this  discipline. For example, my love of silk cords that I have sewn in navy and burgundy doesn’t account for much if I rarely use those colors in my polymer clay work.  And then there is the big knitting problem: how does anyone make Fun Fur  and Eyelash Yarn look classy?

Responses

  1. Isn’t kumihimo fun? I love it. Love your knitted piece too.

    • I do love it. Thanks Alice!

  2. Nice scarf pattern…..is it published somewhere? Or just a burst of imagination on your part?

    • I learned the basics in a knitting group. It’s three separate strips of straight knitting (5-7 stitches each) that have been woven together after you “un-do” the stitches on one side (or both with the middle strip). You leave the top line of stitches incomplete (hold them on saftety pins or a cable holder). After the weaving is completed, you finish the last row on top of the scarf, binding off as you normally would do. Hope that helps And thanks for the compliment.

      • Just so delighted to hear from you! I wasn’t sure if I would or not as I noted this was from 2011. I’ve had some super-sleuths working on figuring this out on Ravelry just in case I didn’t hear back from you. They are a diligent and dedicated team and were all most helpful. They are like bloodhounds hot on the trail of mysteries like this and they don’t give up–ever. Anyhow I so appreciate you getting back to me and am delighted to find out that this isn’t too difficult for my mind to get around. I’m gonna give it a try.

        Are you on Ravelry? I am Patty7737 and would love to have you among my friends there. Thanks so much!

  3. It’s a really easy pattern, Patty. It just looks complex. I will call someone in the knitting group to see if there is an actual pattern for the thing. If there is, I’ll get it to you. Meanwhile, if you have any problems, let me know.

    I am on Ravelry: CassyM


Leave a Reply

Categories

