Posted by: cassymuronaka | October 25, 2011

Frolicking fiberly

“You’ll be relieved to know that I have no intention of becoming obsessed with spinning or dyeing,” I told my husband before I sailed out the door for Fiber Frolic, a recent weekend event sponsored by Griffin Dyeworks,  a Monrovia-based online business that occasionally offers fiber-based classes.

I didn’t say anything about Nuno Felting, though, which was a Fiber Frolic class that had drawn my attention. Fortunately, I already had lots of wool roving, so when I did show up at the Monrovia church where the event was held, so I didn’t put any big dents in my Mastercard.

It has been a long time since I have seen so many old hippies gathered in one place at the same time. The last occasion was at a farmers’ market in Arcata on a Saturday morning, where longhairs bumping into each over fruit and vegetables completely rattled  my then 11-year-old son.  Not having grown up in the 1960s, he found it unsettling to wander through an entire village square full of people looking like ZZ Top band members. Personally, I found it nostalgic and comforting.

But, as usual, I digress.  One Fiber Frolic room was devoted entirely to spinning classes and companionable spinners.  At lot of these people were men, and none of them were new to spinning.  One man told me that his grandmother taught him to spin 57 years ago.  Another, Paul Lee, shown below, raises his own Angora rabbits, which, apparently, are much less cooperative about periodically being harvested of some of their fur than sheep are of all of their wool.”

“The rabbits don’t like it when I pick them up, Paul said, smiling, “They know what’s coming next.”

Understandable.  One of my dogs loves being groomed, and the other looks like she is going to eat me if I even think about heading towards her with a comb. I also once had a pet rabbit who was not at all interested in physically bonding.  And I received a couple of swift kicks to the chest with those powerful bunny hind legs, to make the message loud and clear.

Responses

  1. I understand that one of the best bets for helping to insure a functioning brain in our later years is to learn something entirely new. It’s not enough to just read about it, one must actually engage other parts (i.ie hands) to do the trick. Of course there is no guarantee, but I think learning any of the fiber arts would qualify.

  2. Is that guy running the peddle with a bare foot? I do that when I sew or run my flex shaft. Shoes just don’t cut it when you need to feel how hard to push!

    • He is! And he wasn’t the only one barefoot or semi-barefoot.


Leave a Reply

Categories

