Posted by: cassymuronaka | May 31, 2011

The first polymer

It was about 20 years before I realized that a 2″ pin I had purchased at an Austin street fair during the late 1970s was polymer  clay. I bought the jewelry item when I was working at a weekly small town newspaper in Marble Falls, about 45 miles from the Texas state capital.

The pin attempted to replicate a plate of doughnuts.  It featured several cake doughnuts with sprinkles and frosting, a swirl roll and a remarkably realistic cruller and eclair.  Looking at it today, the miniature work is still pretty good.

The purchase of the  whimsical pin was inspired by a woman who worked in the newspaper office. She never met a piece of pastry she didn’t like, and she would routinely bring in boxes of doughnuts on Friday mornings. Unlike the rest of us, she never gained an ounce of weight.

I began wearing the pin on Friday mornings to celebrate the end-of-the-week ritual. But once I quit the job and moved out of Texas, I threw the pin in a drawer and forgot all about it.

I came across it again this week when I decided to rummage through polymer clay items I have bought and swapped over the years.  Since my blog has been a relatively blank canvas during the last month or so, I think reliving my days of Swap Fever might be entertaining to share.

Responses

  1. Glad you’re back! We had a donut-bringer in my office years ago. I gained at least 10 pounds on chocolate donuts within a few months. He was a runner and, of course, remained thin.

  2. Of COURSE I love this pin!

  3. Wearing doughnuts is undboutedly healthier than eating doughnuts.


Leave a Reply

Categories

