Posted by: cassymuronaka | April 11, 2011

Fremont Street, where the Elite Meet in Las Vegas

I keep trying to write some copy to accompany these photos, but I think I may just let them speak for themselves, especially because there are so many of them, and I am having a tough time editing them down.

We took my son to Las Vegas to celebrate his 21st birthday last week.  Who better to introduce him to wine, women and song than his parents? In all my years of visiting Las Vegas — a city where I once lived and worked — I have never attended the “Fremont Street Experience.”  And it is one, too, resembling New Orleans’ Bourbon Street during Mardi Gras, and Hollywood Boulevard on any summer night, far more than than anything found on the Las Vegas Strip, just a few miles away. With a giant three-block ceiling flashing an ongoing light show, loud dueling bands, scantily-clad dancing bartenders, celebrity impersonators and daquiris and whiskey drinks presented in plastic glasses the size of footballs and plumbing pipes, your senses can only take it in for an hour or so.  Well, unless you have been steadily inhaling those three-foot-long daquiris for a while. Then, I guess it’s just “laissez le bon temp rouler” all night.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Responses

  1. hmmmmmmmmmm- gee they sure look real- not augmented at all

  2. I love the American Gothic….so embarrassing that this is us.

    • Painful, isnt’ it? Unfortunately, I was dressed the same way, so I would have fit right in if someone had taken my photo.


Leave a Reply

Categories

