Posted by: cassymuronaka | March 8, 2011

And I am the Empress of Hacienda Heights

It dawned on me today that I have encountered some of the torn newspaper and magazine clippings that I have been sorting through this week many times during the last several decades. That is because there never has been an official home for them, no file where they can be placed. They exist simply to entertain me.

Apparently, they amuse me so much that I never throw them away, but simply toss them back in a pile, sure that I will chance upon them again when I least expect it.

Here’s one that my sister sent to me three decades ago when she was attending Stanford University in Palo Alto and I was living in Texas.

“The late Queen Louise of Sweden cherished her privacy. She loved to go out by herself and not be recognized. But she feared something might happen and no one would know who she was. So she carried a slip of paper in her purse. It said, “I am the Queen of Sweden.”‘

Queen Louise of Sweden

As long as we are on the subject of minor monarchs of the first half of the 20th century, I’d like to quote one of my favorite poems, written by that great cynic, Dorothy Parker:

Oh, life is a glorious cycle of song,
A medley of extemporanea;
And love is a thing that can never go wrong;
And I am Marie of Romania.


Queen Marie of Romania

Responses

  1. My dog thinks I’m the King of Pasadena

  2. Rosie and I agree.

  3. We are all queens of our own worlds, but we forget it sometimes.

    • SO TRUE.

  4. My daughter is taking a bus load of kids to Hacienda Heights today. She had never heard of it before. I meant to tell her “our queen” lives there.

    • HAHAHAHAHAHA!

  5. Happy birthday Empress of Hacienda Heights. These are royal greetings, since I had myself proclaimed the Empress of Podnia by my copy desk colleagues at the L.A. Times in Orange County before I left. I tried to get them to name me Goddess, but they wouldn’t go for it. Darn!

    Enjoy this glorious birthday!

  6. And thanks to Dorothy for going through the exquisite agony of childbirth those…wait a minute, now…just HOW many years ago was that????

    Happy Birthday, Youngster!

    (from your elder by 30 days)


Leave a Reply

Categories

