Posted by: cassymuronaka | January 5, 2011

Must be the season of the sock monkey

As I move into the third year of this blog, a lot of my friends and acquaintances have become very finely in tune with the shiny subject matter that attracts me. More and more frequently, I receive an email that essentially says, “this looks like something weird that you’d like.”

It is invariably a photo of something very silly.

About two nights after this pair of  bright red adult pajamas stopped me in my tracks at Target, I got an email from a friend in Maryland, Bill Trott (a fine writer who pens his own blog) with the link to work of a talented and quirky artist named Rebecca Yaker, who was ahead of the the wave of the public’s current enchantment with an old toy: the sock monkey.

Rebecca, who is clearly more than handy with a sewing machine, needle and thread, not only has created any number of sock monkey dresses, but a a sock monkey bikini as well.

My favorite of her creations, however, is a dress called “The Cleaning Lady’s Night Out,” composed of rubber gloves.

Responses

  1. I will send this one to my niece who is majoring in clothes design and just constructed a skirt out of an umbrella.

    • That sounds extremely interesting.


Leave a Reply

Categories

