Posted by: cassymuronaka | September 7, 2010

Mercury in Retrograde

I generally approach astrological predictions with about the same sense of gravity that I give to the advice I get in Panda Express fortune cookies. But, I’m beginning to pay a little more attention to when Mercury is in Retrograde now.

According to Astrology, the planet Mercury and its shadow spend several weeks each year in a period where the planet seems to be moving backwards. This occurs about three times a year.

What happens during Mercury Retrograde is that everything in your life goes straight to hell: Mechanical things break down, people miscommunicate, sleep is disrupted, commercial deals go bad, your mind gets sluggish and you cannot remember where you put anything. In other words, you get to spend about three straight weeks feeling more aggravated, frustrated and stupid than usual.

I have become increasingly more aware of some aspects of Astrology because a close friend and co-worker of my husband’s is a follower and occasionally updates him with a crucial Zodiac planetary movement.  The ones that I always hear about are passed along to me following one of my admittedly semi-hysterical rants to my spouse, after a week or two of utter chaos in my life. And what my husband always replies to me in a maddeningly placid and unsympathetic tone of voice is,

“Mercury is in Retrograde.”

The first few times he made this pronouncement, I wanted to jump on his shoulders and beat him over the head like a character in a Bugs Bunny cartoon.  The next few times he said it, I began calm down and muse upon the timing and coincidence of the various large and small disasters that seem to come out of nowhere and disappear just as quickly at certain times of the year.

After the second Mercury Retrograde of 2010, during which Iceland’s volcano blew and I wasn’t the only person experiencing domestic and business upheaval, I finally began researching information on Mercury Retrograde.

What could it hurt to know when the next one was going to arrive, I thought?

Mercury Retrograde occurs not three but four times in 2010. And we are right smack dab in the middle of one of those suckers this week.

I can’t say that putting the Mercury Retrograde timeline alert on my calendar has really helped me head off anything off at the pass. Since this one began in August, I have smashed one of my fingers between two pieces of granite while accompanying my mother on a search for a new kitchen countertop.  I also wrenched my back lifting buckets of Pine Sol cleaning solution while trying to trying to wash walls at home. As a result, I spent the last two weeks popping muscle relaxants and walking like Frankenstein.

My DSL connection also keeps going down, which brings my son to a state of near frenzy when this occurs during particularly crucial World of Warcraft sieges on rock monsters.

My battery in my Droid cellphone, which I love like my sister, keeps shutting down.

A woodpecker has taken up noisy residence in one of my two backyard plum trees, which is obviously is in a state of decline, either from holes, noise pollution or bugs the woodpecker is gamely pursuing inside the dying tree.

Each morning my husband and I also discuss the insane dreams we have had while sleeping during the last couple of weeks. One night we had delusions in which we both imagined that we were on cruise liners.  He was selling 1960s era Muscle Cars to people in one of the ship bars, and I was Ace Ventura playing roulette at a gambling table full of farm animals on a boat going to Alaska.

Right now, I am fretting a bit about that plane ride I scheduled for September 16, hoping that the worst that will happen is that the flight attendants will run out of peanuts or pretzels unexpectedly.

On the positive side, Mercury Retrograde is a good time to organize and reflect. I can testify to the truth of this.  About a week ago, my husband and I were television surfing and landed on an episode of “Hoarders,” a show we had never seen and which subsequently horrified both of us so much that we each fled into a cleaning frenzy. By the time Labor Day weekend rolled around, we were both diligently working in our mutual office/studios, ruthlessly tossing and sorting anything we could lay our hands on, and preparing for one of our not-infrequent visits to the Goodwill or Salvation Army.  

The last Mercury Retrograde of 2010 runs from December 10 to the 30th. I can’t tell you how much I am looking forward to this happening during the Christmas season, which is always a wild ride in family dynamics, even on a good year.

It may be small comfort to know that it’s on the calender, and it may not make an ounce of difference in how this year ends, but I still will be careful what I put down the garbage disposal, how I drive in extra-heavy freeway traffic, what exactly I am signing for on my credit card receipts, and for how long and where I leave those holiday candles burning brightly.

Responses

  1. ahhhhhhhh- so that explains it. I have heard the expression for years- even used it myself when things seem to just go to hell over and over- now I know that there really IS such a thing—-Thanks, Cassy- once again you inform and make me smile!!

  2. Thanks Lisa. Good luck heading off the next storm!

  3. never heard of this but it sure explains a heck of alot these last weeks! hang in there , we are now on the down side!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

