Posted by: cassymuronaka | June 1, 2010

Let me take you down to Strawberry Fields

Many years ago, on a photo assignment, I discovered the Cal Poly farm store, where I bought a dwarf Satsuma tangerine tree grown by students. At that time the shop was more of an over-sized farm shed was set in the middle of a pasture across from the California State University at Pomona.

Like my tangerine tree, the farm has grown substantially. The complex has been relocated, but it’s still on farmland near the school, and is now known as the Farm Store at Kellogg Ranch. In addition to home-grown produce and meats processed on campus, the store carries its own lines of trendy jams and relishes. It also produces award-winning wine.

I wandered by the store last Friday and stumbled onto the waning days of this season’s “U-Pick Strawberry” program. Several locals were spending their Friday afternoon before Memorial Day plucking their own plump strawberries for $2.99 a pound.

FARM STORE AT KELLOGG RANCH
4102 S. University Drive
Pomona, CA 91768
10 a.m. to 6 p.m. Daily
(909) 869-4906

Responses

  1. Love that! I have never heard of the farm store there. Will have to make a side trip next time I visit my mom in Upland.

    I have a few new strawberry recipes on my brand, spanking new website:
    http://www.shockinglydelicious.com

    Check them out, Missy!

  2. “Let me take you down cause I’m going to strawberry fields

    Nothing is real”

    That kind of sums up part of the 60s pretty well. A fine post, Cassy!

  3. I get hungry every time I look at this post


Leave a Reply

Categories

