Posted by: cassymuronaka | April 17, 2010

Getting your kicks and strawberry doughnuts along Route 66

I’ve never been a big fan of doughnuts, although I do have to agree with Elvis about Krispy Kreme glazed.

But it would not be strawberry season without a pilgrimage to Donut Man, located directly along the famed Route 66 in Glendora, CA. From the outside, Donut Man appears to be a typical doughnut shack. Inside, it’s a very different story. Famous for its hole-less glazed doughnuts stuffed with fresh, fat strawberries covered in a light glaze, Donut Man also makes a variety of other fried pastries, not all of which are seasonal like the strawberry doughnut.

I came up with this year’s flimsy excuse to go to Donut Man after my neighbor told me about a sale on blueberry plants at the Rainbow Nursery, less than two miles away from Donut Man. My neighbor, like me, is a very narrow-minded gardener. If we can’t eat it, we’re not interested in growing it.

After I bought my blueberry plant and watched the turtles and koi fish taunt each other in one of the two ponds at Rainbow Nursery, it was time for a sugar-packed lunch. And Donut Man’s strawberry doughnuts are so large that they do qualify as a meal, as many people eat them with a fork and knife.

Whenever I visit Donut Man in Spring, I make a fairly lame pretense of trying to decide between the strawberry doughnuts or one of the other Donut Man offerings. These include the Tiger Tails (twists with a chocolate schmear), the crullers stuffed with cream cheese and blueberries, or even the one and only menu offering that isn’t an artery-clogger: the chocolate-dipped strawberries. But I always end up buying six strawberry donuts, priced at $2.80 each.

The only variation in this routine is whether I eat one of the doughnuts right there in Glendora, or I make it home with all six in the box. This year, because I didn’t want to make a spectacle of myself by falling to the ground and pounding the pavement, as a result of my shear inability to verbally express how good Donut Man’s strawberry doughnuts are, I made the decision to bring all the donuts home.

Probably because it is craftily located near several college and university campuses, Donut Man thrives 24-hours a day. To plan a trip so that it coincides with a fresh bake, know that the doughnuts are made once a day: in the early morning or late at night. However, there’s a special early evening run on Fridays at 6 pm.

Potential patrons can stop by YouTube and view one or both of two videos lovingly photographed of strawberry donuts and Tiger Tails being made at Donut Man.

And if you don’t live nearby, or don’t have a trip planned to the Los Angeles area in the next couple of months, and there is the very slightest chance you’ll be here in late summer, you’ll be happy to know that fresh peach doughnuts will be offered for a few weeks, starting in August.

Responses

  1. omg

  2. I am so hungry now

  3. Great post. I have lived in the Los Angeles area since 1969 and this is the first I’ve heard of Donut Man. I have a feeling that it won’t be the last.

    • Worth the trip.

  4. yum….. I think I’d have to go ahead and have sugar for these!!!

  5. and we have never gone there WHY??????

  6. The owner of Covina Donuts (Julie) makes a raisin croissant that is rather spectacular–not too sweet, not too heavy.


Leave a Reply

Categories

