Posted by: cassymuronaka | January 8, 2010

Working backwards in polymer clay

Yeah, I could be taking down the Christmas tree, but since I decided to purchase an artificial one this year, that puppy can stay up there through March if I don’t feel like packing those ornaments up any time soon. Everyone always needs a little Christmas anyway, to loosely quote “Mame.”

The tree isn’t the only chore calling to me gently in the night, but instead of doing any of them, I am re-examining a polymer clay cane I made about 15 years ago when I didn’t know squat about polymer clay.

The problem with this poorly made, grossly-distorted cane is that it’s beautiful, and the objects made from it have always drawn positive attention. It was constructed with “discrete,” gradated blends in colors straight from the Fimo factory, in the style of City Zen Cane. Well, a City Zen Cane that lived and functioned in Bizarro Superman’s world.

Every few years I take a crack at breaking down the cane again, because with each new season, I know a little more about polymer clay than I did the season before. One year, I figured out the technique I used to actually make it, which is pretty pretty obvious to me now, but at the time, I was like a Neanderthal finding fire.

On another year, I am pretty sure I discovered the order in which the colors were layered.

In the last couple of years, I realized I could draw and preview a lot of geometric canes in Adobe Photoshop. This would avoid the loud “meh” uttered when a cane design does not come out quite as one anticipated.

For a while now, I’ve been mulling over the fact that I could photographically work backwards with a pre-existing cane, especially a geometric cane. This epiphany lead me to shoot and enlarge the images of couple of items made from the cherished cane, thereby allowing me to — hopefully — discover the loony process I used to arrive at my pretty cane pattern. So now it’s giant-sized and I can look at it and make like Tim Gunn on the deconstruction process, which was a lot harder to do when I was trying to examine a 1″X2″ earring with aged eyes.

Responses

  1. Arrrrrrrrggggggggghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh! I forgot to steal some sushi jewelry from you!

    Is “cane” polymerspeak for “body of produced clay?”

  2. cool design

  3. […] Working Backwards in Polymer Clay https://cassymuronaka.wordpress.com/2010/01/08/working-backwards-in-polymer-clay/ […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

