Posted by: cassymuronaka | April 23, 2009

In the pink

in-the-pink4

The several polymer clay necklaces I made with these beads were the result of a brief but intense love affair with a particular heart-shaped canapé cutter. Once I had exhausted all forms of heart jewelry, I moved on to playing around the the shape itself.

I didn’t go too far before I had a new bead. I merely pinched the two sides together directly above the point, and then ran a horizontal bead whole through the pinch.

The heart shape was composed of two sides: a solid backing and a design below the pinch. The inner clay pattern came from a “step” cane I had learned in a City Zen Cane class in the mid-1990s, a time when Steve Ford and David Forlano used to cross the Rockies to teach classes to us folks out in The Wild Wild West, although I do believe that David Forlano moved to New Mexico not so long ago.

Because I live in an Asian community where all forms of pearls are easily available, I opted for these pale dyed pink freshwater beads to use as spacers in this necklace. My mind easily goes to pearls when I am too lazy to come up with a companion bead. And that is not necessarily a bad thing.

ribbon-bracelet1

I still kind of love the morphed heart shape. I was reminded of it a couple of years ago at the beginning of the fiber craze. I used it in an attempt to create a bright Caribbean flower stretch bracelet full of colorful petals. Unfortunately, I made the heart shapes from a stiff ribbon that I backed with something even stiffer and scratchier. It made for an uncomfortable bracelet.

Actually, I made two impractical and pretty bracelets in different lively floral colors, both of which I promptly laid gently down in a drawer to sleep, where they wait for me to wake them up one day and remake them into something wonderful that works.

Responses

  1. I absolutely love the green bracelet! I agree that it would be impractical to wear, (I’d break it in ten seconds, the way I throw my hands around when I talk!) but if the beads were reworked into a choker, it could work! The color and form is fantastic!

  2. Thanks Cindy, one of these days I’ll get back to it….

  3. […] In the Pink https://cassymuronaka.wordpress.com/2009/04/23/in-the-pink/ […]

  4. […] the Pink https://cassymuronaka.wordpress.com/2009/04/23/in-the-pink/ Now You See It, Now You Don’t […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

