Posted by: cassymuronaka | March 14, 2009

Satchel Paige was right

David Nathan McNary says I am not posting enough.

In the several decades that I have known Dave, Variety reporter and baseball blogger, he has never steered me wrong, so here I am back at the keyboard.

“You don’t have to write something, but you should post every day …. even if it’s just a photo,” he said to me on the telephone 20 minutes ago.

Well, okay, Dave. How about this one?

dave-and-topiary-animals-sepia1

Shot sometime during the 1980s, this photograph was the only good thing to come out of a futile attempt by the two of us to freelance an article for the now-defunct LA Daily Reader on topiary sculptures in Los Angeles County. As it turned out, most of the giant plants were in Orange County, at Disneyland-area motels, to be specific. And don’t ask me why we thought this was a good idea for a story.

As for the Satchel Paige quote. If you aren’t familiar with the most famous line that baseball pitcher ever uttered, it’s ….

“Don’t look back. Something might be gaining on you.”

Responses

  1. It’s all true

  2. That moustache is a little embarrassing

  3. You forget the perm I had in the 80s. You’ll never see a photo of that here.

  4. Which was growing faster, the mustache or the topiaries?

    Good photo though. There are days when I feel just like that…minus the mustache.

  5. that moustache was pretty steady.

  6. I cut it off around 1982 or 1983 after having had one since 1974 or so. I don’t even remember why I decided it was a good idea in the first place.

  7. plant animals chasing an hairy-faced animal…..verrrrry innnnnnnnterestink!!! So glad you are back to posting more regularly. I need my belly laughs!!

  8. and I am very fond of the quilt squares on each comment!

  9. the quilt squares are indeed very cool!


Leave a Reply

Categories

