Posted by: cassymuronaka | February 6, 2009

Doctor My Eyes

For the last nine years my son has been a patient of Dr. Walter Fierson, a very nice man who also happens to be a Very Big Deal in his field of pediatric ophthalmology. I can’t say that I got lucky finding Dr. Fierson, because I researched the hell out of physicians when it became clear that my then-4th grader had a severe eye problem, but I certainly will state loudly for the record that I am lucky to have found him and for him to have taken my son on as a patient. There’s a good reason that Dr. Fierson is a VBD, and that’s why we want him always to remain one of our BFFs.

I liked Dr. Fierson right off the bat because he only writes with purple pens, a somehow endearing and trustworthy quirk. Over the years, Dr. Fierson has shepherded Jake through two surgeries and countless eyeglass prescription changes, always written in violet ink. And because he is Dr. Fierson, I keep my dark thoughts about the medical profession’s penchant for patient-overbooking to myself.

The invention of the iPod has helped Jake immensely with problem of waiting to see the good doctor, or simply killing time while his eyes were being dilated. I used to try to read books while I was cooling my jets, but in an outer office full of infants and toddlers the noise level is almost off the charts and sometimes at a pitch that would make large dogs howl. In addition, there is a television set that appears to have been playing “101 Dalmatians” nonstop for nearly a decade.

mesmerized-by-cruella3

A funny thing happened over the years: Jake became the only teenager in the room. He is now about to turn 19, and do not even think about going there regarding my own age. But it is not an understatement to say that he and I have stood out like sore thumbs for a while now. And during that time we have been wondering at what point Jake might be unceremoniously shown the door; forced to “graduate” to adult ophthalmology, if you will.

Jake finally took the bull by the horns a couple of visits ago and asked Dr. Fierson how much longer he could continue his office visits.

Dr. Fierson, who at the time was writing yet another optical prescription change in purple ink, looked up, smiled and said, “As long as you can put up with me.”

not-the-youngest-feet

Responses

  1. I’m going to have to forward this to my little sister the pediatrician. She’s now got patients of her patients. I like Dr. Walter’s response: “As long as you can put up with me.” Classic.

  2. Ha, that’s awesome! When my boyfriend was in college, he asked his pediatrician the same question. At that point, his doctor was no longer accepting new patients so my boyfriend was afraid the doctor would say something along the lines of “Wow, HOW old are you now?”

    The pediatrician told him he could continue to come as long as he was still in school. My boyfriend loved using that excuse when he transferred and then went to law school, claiming he had to stay in school as long as he could in order to avoid finding a new doctor!


Leave a Reply

Categories

